This briefing was prepared with the help of AI (KI). Check the stated sources and dates before relying on a claim.
Military Communications & Data Link Briefing — 24–31 October 2026
This edition covers two NATO communications procurements, coalition-network experimentation, resilient command-and-control priorities, data-link training, EU defence funding and planned European testing infrastructure. Several opportunities require verification because the supplied records omit eligibility, access or deadline details, or contain conflicting dates.
Decision Brief
NCIA records identify closing dates of 9 November for augmentation SATCOM services and 20 November 2026 for a special-operations multi-bearer switching procurement. These are source deadlines, not proposed internal milestones; interested organisations should verify notice status, applicable time zones and bidder conditions before deciding whether to prepare a response.
Operational reporting reinforces the importance of redundant communications paths, validated data and coalition interoperability under degraded conditions. For planning purposes, teams may also wish to monitor the second SAFE round, the BattleVerse cascade-funding call and 2027 EDA drone-hub exercises. The supplied material does not establish a direct supplier route for SAFE or the current application status of BattleVerse.
1. Procurement Notices
NCIA multi-bearer switching for special-operations C2
NCIA reference IFB-CO-424256-SOFC2CIS-ACE covers NATO-owned multi-bearer switching equipment and additional terminals supporting special-operations command and control. The supplied record gives an estimated value of €27,601,766, a solicitation release date of 30 July 2026 and a closing date of 20 November 2026. It also displays a 31 March 2026 contract-award date, which precedes both dates and is therefore unresolved. [1 · www.ncia.nato.int]
Augmentation SATCOM services
NCIA reference IFB-CO-424244-SATCOM concerns augmentation SATCOM services with a stated estimated value of €8,071,406. The supplied record lists 21 May 2026 as the solicitation release date, 9 November 2026 as the closing date and 29 December 2026 as the contract-award date. Bidder conditions and submission details are not included in the supplied notice summary. [2 · www.ncia.nato.int]
3. Link 16, Link 22 & Interoperability
Trilateral PACOM Mission Network demonstration
Reporting published on 27 October describes US, Japanese and Australian forces deploying the PACOM Mission Network during Yama Sakura 91. The layered, resilient mesh network transferred target-quality data among the three allies and supported real-time trilateral fires integration. The exercise also highlighted shared redundant architecture and technical, procedural and human interoperability as requirements for coalition operations in degraded environments. [3 · www.afcea.org]
Resilient C2 at the tactical edge
Special Operations Command Korea’s J6 director identified three priorities: greater network capacity at the tactical edge, resilient C2 and delivery of validated mission-relevant data. The described architecture combines options including low-Earth-orbit SATCOM, 5G, advanced waveforms, mesh networking and high-frequency communications. The operational emphasis is on maintaining useful communications when individual paths fail, limiting unnecessary traffic on constrained networks and designing coalition interoperability from the outset. [4 · govciomedia.com]
Remaining 2026 data-link training dates
An undated SyntheSys Defence page lists DLM/ICO training for 9–27 November, MIDS Link 16 courses for 10–12 November and 8–10 December, and on-demand subjects including Link 22, VMF and multi-link management. These are calendar dates shown on the supplied page, not confirmation that registration remains open. Prospective participants should verify delivery arrangements and availability before making plans. [5 · www.synthesysdefencesystems.co.uk]
4. Defence Funding & SME Access
Second SAFE round
The European Commission’s 29 October publication invites Member States to participate in a second SAFE round allocated €21.3 billion. It encourages joint procurement and prioritisation of areas including air and missile defence, drones and counter-drone systems, ammunition and missiles. This is a Member State financing process; the supplied text does not establish a direct supplier application route. [6 · defence-industry-space.ec.europa.eu]
BattleVerse cascade funding
The supplied EUDIS material describes a BattleVerse call aimed primarily at SMEs and start-ups in EU Member States, Norway or Ukraine. It identifies topics covering mission-planning language models, multi-physics simulation and distributed AI for coordinated autonomous systems. The stated support is up to €60,000 per beneficiary for six-month projects, but the page does not provide an application deadline or establish the call’s current status. [7 · eudis.europa.eu]
5. Programme, Award & Market Updates
EDA plans operational exercises for drone hubs
EDA says it will organise operational exercises in 2027 to support pilot Drone Technology Hubs in Selonia, Latvia, and Scheveningen, the Netherlands. The Latvian hub will address aerial and ground drone and counter-drone technologies; the Dutch hub will focus on maritime and seabed security. Both are intended to connect operational requirements with innovation, testing, evaluation and standardisation, while supporting aligned EU-NATO testing approaches and interoperability by design. [8 · eda.europa.eu]
Source notes
The supplied NCIA records are summary notices and do not provide bidder eligibility, security requirements, submission instructions or closing time zones. The ACE record also shows a contract-award date of 31 March 2026 even though its stated solicitation release and closing dates are later in 2026, so that date sequence is unresolved in the supplied material. Further details may be available on the respective linked original websites. [1 · www.ncia.nato.int] [2 · www.ncia.nato.int]
The supplied Commission material identifies Member States as participants in the second SAFE round but does not state the submission deadline, tentative national allocations or a direct application route for suppliers. Further details may be available on the linked original website. [6 · defence-industry-space.ec.europa.eu]
The supplied undated training page lists 2026 course dates and on-demand subjects but does not state delivery locations, access restrictions, prices or whether places remain available. Further details may be available on the linked original website. [5 · www.synthesysdefencesystems.co.uk]
The supplied EUDIS page describes the BattleVerse call, eligible participant types, technical topics, possible support and project duration, but it does not provide an application deadline and contains both call details and language saying further information was expected in autumn 2026. The current application status therefore cannot be established from the supplied material; further details may be available on the linked original website. [7 · eudis.europa.eu]